2011 Premier's Literary Awards Shortlist Announced

Each year the Premier's Literary Awards honour some of Australia's best and most influential written works including fiction, non-fiction and poetry. The awards not only set a benchmark for Australian writers but encourage people to enjoy and become involved in what is an important aspect of  Australian culture and arts. Our writers have been recognised each year since 1979 when Neville Wran presented the very first Christina Stead Award for fiction to David Malouf for An Imaginary Life and the Douglas Stewart Award for non-fiction to Manning Clarke for A History of Australia Vol 4. Today the awards also honour writers of children's books, poetry, community relations, new writing, translations, play and script writing.


The judges have selected these titles as the best in new Australian fiction for 2011 and you can vote for your favourite in the People's Choice Award on the Premier's Literary Awards website. 




by Alex Miller


by Stephen Daisley

Utopian Man
by Lisa Lang

Parrot and Olivier in America
by Peter Carey

Night Street
by Kristel Thornell


The English Class

by Ouyang Yu



Views: 50

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of Mosman Readers to add comments!

Join Mosman Readers


Like Mosman Library Service on Facebook!

Twitter Updates

© 2022   Created by Mosman Library.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service