Undoubtedly Australia’s richest and most prestigious literary award, the Miles Franklin, has recently announced the longlist for 2012. Now over 50 year old the award remains as influential today as it was in 1957 when Patrick White became the very first recipient for his epic tale Voss. This year for the first time the longlist is dominated by women which is fantastic for Australian female writers who have up until now only won the award 12 times since it began. The shortlist will be announced on May 3 and the award will be presented to the winner in Brisbane on June 20.


The 2012 Miles Franklin Longlist

Tony Birch, Blood

Steven Carroll, The Spirit of Progress

Mark Dapin, Spirit House

Virginia Duigan, The Precipice

Anna Funder, All That I Am

Kate Grenville, Sarah Thornhill

Gail Jones, Five Bells

Gillian Mears, Foal's Bread

Alex Miller, Autumn Laing

Frank Moorhouse, Cold Light

Favel Parrett, Past The Shallows

Elliot Perlman, The Street Sweeper

Charlotte Wood, Animal People



Views: 74

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of Mosman Readers to add comments!

Join Mosman Readers


Like Mosman Library Service on Facebook!

Twitter Updates

© 2022   Created by Mosman Library.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service